Muffins or a sharpened toothbrush?

I had a great time at the Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco Jan. 18.  The highlight of the show for me was a hilarious bit of cognitive dissonance when I found a particularly cute — I would even call it “precious” — booth.

This booth apparently belonged to a Florida-based maker of food, um, stuff. I don’t know how to describe what they do, because I could look at a pantry full of their products and not see a single thing to eat. Lots of dips and mixes and things that probably end up being passed off in charity raffle baskets or something. But whatever. If they make money, then good for them.

What got me was that the company at this booth with cheery colors and charming little displays shares a name with a maximum-security California state prison notorious for housing inmates too violent and depraved to be allowed to mix with the gentler souls filling the bunks at other state prisons.

I don’t think anyone had told them about the prison, but when I saw the booth I laughed out loud.

So if someone mentions Pelican Bay, be sure to ask if they mean the outfit specializing in charming gingerbread cookie mixes, or the place where you go if you shank a prison guard in the neck.

By the by, I looked for my favorite captain’s cap-wearing company rep from last year’s show to no avail.

Follow Tom Prete on Twitter.


Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to Muffins or a sharpened toothbrush?

  1. michaelprocopio says:

    It’s a pity you didn’t get to see her, since she was my absolute favorite vendor(ess) of 2009. Thanks for this– I’d almost forgotten all about her!

    • Tom Prete says:

      I actually saw her a few months later at the Lucky supermarket on Sloat Boulevard, much to my surprise. When I read your blog post, by the way, I realized how much better your reaction was than mine. Reminded me to be nice to people once in a while.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

